Smurfit school business journalist awards 2017

Call For Entries: 11th UCD Smurfit School Business Journalist Awards 2017

Sponsored by open eir

UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School has launched its 11th Annual Business Journalist Awards scheme, in association with open eir, to recognise excellence in Irish business journalism. Broadcast, print and online business journalists are invited to submit entries via, before the closing date of Wednesday, 13th September 2017. Entries can be submitted by nominees themselves or on behalf of journalists by editors or peers. The winner of each category will be honoured at an awards ceremony Gala Luncheon on Monday, 4th December 2017 and will receive a €1,000 prize.

This year’s categories, which are open to journalists throughout the island of Ireland, are: -

Business News Story of the Year – Economic Commentator of the Year/Business Analyst of the Year – Specialist Business Reporter of the Year – Business Interview of the Year – Upcoming Journalist of the Year – Technology Reporter of the Year – Business Feature of the Year.

In addition to the seven categories which journalists can submit entries the adjudicating panel can, at its discretion, award an Outstanding Achievement Award to recognise a significant contribution to business journalism. This honorary award is distinct in that the judges can choose a journalist who, throughout his/her career, has enhanced the public’s understanding of business in Ireland and inspired others.

Since its launch in 2007, the Business Journalist Awards has received over 1,100 entries from business journalists across broadcast, print and online media outlets in Ireland. The awards are run in conjunction with the Business Journalist Association of Ireland (BJAI).

Speaking at the launch of the Business Journalist Awards this morning, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, Dean, UCD Business, said: “The Business Journalist Awards scheme is an important initiative which recognises the efforts of business journalists who, both individually and collectively, inform us of the important economic, financial and business affairs that have an impact on our lives. Last year, our 10th year of running this awards scheme, saw the highest number of entries ever received and highlighted, once again, the breadth of issues covered by business media in print, broadcast and online formats; all providing great insight to consumers of business coverage. Once again, on behalf of the School, I encourage all business journalists in Ireland to submit their entries to the 2017 awards, so that the efforts of the business journalism community can be honoured and recognised.”

Orlagh Nevin, Director of Sales, Marketing and Service, open eir, added: “open eir is delighted to sponsor the UCD Smurfit School Business Journalist Awards for the fifth year running recognising the very best of business journalism across all media platforms. The standard of business journalism in Ireland is extremely high. Their depth of experience and knowledge is something we see first-hand every day through the reporting of complex and critical business stories. These Awards are a great platform for recognising and rewarding the tremendous work that is being done.”

Each entry is scrutinised by an independent panel of judges, comprising business, journalistic, economic and academic leaders. This year’s judging panel is comprised of: Emer Gilvarry, Chairperson & Partner, Mason Hayes & Curran (chair); Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, Dean, UCD Business; Professor Damien McLoughlin, Professor of Marketing, UCD Smurfit School; Professor Eamonn Walsh, Professor of Accounting, UCD Smurfit School; Aidan Cotter, Chairman, Slaney Food and former Chief Executive of Bord Bia; Jon Ihle, Head of Communications at Goodbody; Emmet Oliver, Director of Marketing and Communications, Irish League of Credit Unions; Breege O’Donoghue, Non-Executive Director, C&C Group plc and former Executive Director at Penneys/Primark; Rodney Rice, retired broadcaster, RTÉ; Orlagh Nevin, Director of Sales, Marketing and Service, open eir (sponsor); Jim Aughney, media and financial consultant; Pat Costello, former CEO of Chartered Accountants Ireland; and Ronan Murphy, Advisory Board Member, UCD Smurfit School and former Managing Partner of PWC.

Last year’s winners included Barry O’Halloran of The Irish Times in the Business News Story category, with Stephen Kinsella of the Sunday Business Post winning the award for Economic Commentator/Business Analyst. The best Business Feature was awarded to Paul Colgan, UTV Ireland, while Will Goodbody from RTÉ took the prize for Specialist Business Reporter. Barry Whyte, Sunday Business Post received the award for Business Interview. The award for Upcoming Journalist of the Year was won by Paul O’Donoghue, while Marie Boran was recognised as Technology Journalist of the Year. The Outstanding Achievement Award was presented to Charlie Weston.

Stay up to speed

By clicking sign up, you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy.