An 20Post 20Oscar 20Stamps 20Jordan

An Post stamps celebrate Ireland’s Oscar® winners

An Post has unveiled four new stamps to celebrate the achievements of Ireland’s Academy Award winners over the last 30 years including Neil Jordan, Brenda Fricker, Daniel Day-Lewis, Martin McDonagh, Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová. The stamps were revealed in advance of the 94th Academy Awards® which take place this weekend.

Irish 20Oscar 20Winners Set

Designed by Dublin Studio Red&Grey, the booklet of four ‘N’ stamps which cover standard letter postage within the island of Ireland, celebrate Irish success at the Oscars® and feature photographs of the moment when each of the winners picked up their Oscar® at the famous Oscars® awards ceremony. Images include:

  • Daniel Day-Lewis and Brenda Fricker, winners of Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress for ‘My Left Foot’ in 1990
  • Neil Jordan, winner of Best Screenplay for ‘The Crying Game’ in 1993
  • Martin McDonagh, winner of Best Live Action Short Film for ‘Six Shooter’ in 2006
  • Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová for Best Original Song in ‘Once’ in 2008.

An 20POst 20Oscar 20Stamps 20c

The 4-stamp Oscars® stamp booklet (€5) is available at main post offices or online at

Speaking at the unveiling of the Irish Oscar® Winner stamps, Neil Jordan said ‘"I never thought that I would win an Oscar, but I never ever thought I would be on an Irish stamp. What a privilege.”

Debbie Byrne, Managing Director of An Post Retail added: “At An Post, we’re committed to showcasing and supporting the best of Irish culture and talent. The Irish Oscar® Winners stamps celebrate the best in the business and serve as a reminder of what we, as Irish people, can achieve. This special issue is being released just in time for the 94th Academy Awards® ceremony and we wish all of our Irish talent the very best of luck this weekend.”

Stay up to speed

By clicking sign up, you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy.